(Back to the menu - click here.)


                         "Geometric phases and the separation of the world"





 Thursday, 25. April 2019

    Video-Recording for any system with MP4-support

   - Video.mp4  (ca.455 Mb)

 15:15 – 16:25



                                                          Sir Michael Berry

                                       (H H Wills Physics Laboratory, University of Bristol, UK)


Abstract :

The waves that describe systems in quantum physics can carry information

about how their environment has been altered, for example by forces acting on

them. This effect is the geometric phase. It also occurs in the optics of polarised

light, where it goes back to the 1830s. The underlying mathematics is

geometric: the phenomenon of parallel transport, which also explains how

falling cats land on their feet, and why parking a car in a narrow space is

difficult. Incorporating the back-reaction of the geometric phase on the

dynamics of the changing environment exposes the unsolved problem of how

strictly a system can be separated from a slowly-varying environment, and

involves different mathematics: divergent infinite series.


The Lise Meitner Dinsguished lecture is supported by the Royal Swedish

Academy of Sciences through its Nobel Committee for Physics.


Michael Berry is a renowned physicist and the recipient of the following

prizes and awards:

Maxwell Medal and Prize, Institute of Physics, 1978

Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of London, 1982

Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, 1983

Elected Fellow of the Royal Institution, 1983

Elected Member of the Royal Society of Sciences in Uppsala, Sweden, 1986

Bakerian Lecturer, Royal Society, 1987

Elected member of the European Academy, 1989

Dirac Medal and Prize, Institute of Physics, 1990

Lilienfeld Prize, American Physical Society, 1990

Royal Medal, Royal Society, 1990

Naylor Prize and Lectureship in Applied Mathematics, London Mathematical Society, 1992

Foreign Member: US National Academy of Science, 1995

Dirac Medal, International Centre for Theoretical Physics, 1996

Kapitsa Medal, Russian Academy of Sciences, 1997

Wolf Prize for Physics, Wolf Foundation, Israel, 1998

Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Physics, 1999

Forder Lectureship, London Mathematical Society, 1999[10]

Foreign Member: Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2000

Ig Nobel Prize for Physics, 2000 (shared with Andre Geim for "The Physics of Flying Frogs")

Onsager Medal, Norwegian Technical University, 2001

Gibbs Lecturer, American Mathematical Society, 2002[11]

1st and 3rd prizes, Visions of Science, Novartis/Daily Telegraph, 2002

Elected to Royal Society of Edinburgh, 2005

Pólya Prize, London Mathematical Society, 2005

Doctor of Science, honoris causa, University of Glasgow, 2007

Doctor of Science, honoris causa, Russian-Armenian (Slavonic) University in Yerevan, 2012

Lorentz Medal, 2015


                              <<<<<<  Denna sida ändrades, den 30 november 2023 kl.17:18:25    >>>>>>