(Back to the menu - click here.)


                                                                  Quantum Computing with Atoms”




 Thursday, 17 March 2022

    Video-Recording for any system with MP4-support

   - Video.mp4  (ca. 408 Mb)

 15:15 – 16:30



Speaker today:  Christopher Monroe  (Duke University and IonQ, Inc.)



Trapped atomic ions are a leading physical platform for quantum computers,

featuring qubits with essentially infinite idle coherence times. Such atomic clock

qubits are controlled with laser beams, allowing densely-connected and

reconfigurable universal gate sets. The path to scale involves concrete

architectural paths, from shuttling ions between Quantum Processing Units

(QPU) cores to modular photonic interconnects between multiple QPUs.

Full-stack ion trap quantum computers have thus moved away from the physics

of qubits and gates and toward the engineering of optical control signals,

quantum gate compilation for algorithms, and software-defined error correction.

I will summarize the state-of-the-art in these quantum computers in both

academic and industrial settings, and speculate on how they might be used

for science and beyond.


Biography: Christopher Monroe is the Gilhuly Family Presidential Distinguished

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics, and Director of

the Duke Quantum Center at Duke University. Monroe is an atomic and quantum

physicist and engineer, with interests in fundamental quantum phenomena,

quantum information science, and quantum computer design and fabrication.

Monroe’s research group pioneered most aspects of ion trap quantum computers,

making the first steps toward a scalable, reconfigurable, and modular quantum

computer system. Monroe is also co-founder and Chief Scientist at IonQ, a public

company inside the Washington Beltway that builds quantum computers based

on trapped atomic ions. Monroe is a chief architect of the 2018 U.S. National

Quantum Initiative and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences.


                              <<<<<<  Denna sida ändrades, den 24 november 2022 kl.17:24:42    >>>>>>