(Back to the menu - click here.)





 Thursday, 18 April 2024

    Video-Recording for any system with MP4-support

   - Video.mp4  (ca. 492 Mb)

 15:15 – 16:30


               Lise Meitner Distinguished Lecture:

  "Engineering a quantum frontier for atomic clocks and fundamental physics"


                                                          Jun Ye

             (JILA, National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado)




Quantum state engineering, many-body physics, and laser technology are helping

to increase the size of coherent quantum systems and revolutionize the performance

of atomic clocks and metrology. A quantum gas of strontium atoms loaded into

arrays of optical traps represents such a system that combines the best measurement

precision and accuracy. Recent advances include precise engineering of a spin

Hamiltonian to achieve a record clock accuracy, determination of the gravitational

time dilation across a few hundred micrometers, and employment and verification of

spin entanglement for clock comparison. These progresses in quantum metrology

provide new insights into dynamical phases of matter, and raise the prospect of

using the next generation of clocks to search for new physics beyond the minimal

standard model and probe the interface of gravity and quantum mechanics.


The Lise Meitner Distinguished Lecture is sponsored by Royal Swedish Academy

of Sciences through its Nobel Committee for Physics.


brief CV

Jun Ye US National Institute of Standards and Technology

JILA and Dept. of Physics, University of Colorado at Boulder


Honors and Awards

Gold Medal (Optical Atomic Clock), US Department of Commerce, 2022

Vannevar Bush Fellowship, Department of Defense, 2022

Herbert Walther Award, German Physical Society (DPG) and OPTICA (OSA),


Niels Bohr Institute Medal of Honour, 2022

Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics (shared with H. Katori), 2022

Clarivate Analytics/Thomson Reuters, Highly Cited Researcher (Top 1%),

every year from 2014 to 2022

Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics, 2021

Micius Quantum Prize (shared with C. Caves and H. Katori), 2020

Norman F. Ramsey Prize, American Physical Society (APS), 2019

Gold Medal (Atomic Clock Network), US Department of Commerce, 2019

I. I. Rabi Award, IEEE, 2018

Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2017

Jacob Rabinow Award, National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2017

Presidential Rank Award (US), Distinguished, 2015

Gold Medal (Optical Atomic Clock), US Department of Commerce, 2014

Rocky Mountain Eagle Award, 2014

Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Investigator Award, 2013

Member, National Academy of Sciences (US), 2011

Frew Fellow, Australian Academy of Science, 2011

Gold Medal (Ultracold Molecules), US Department of Commerce, 2011

European Frequency and Time Forum (EFTF) Award, 2009

Gordon and Betty Moore Distinguished Scholar, California Institute of

Technology, 2008

I. I. Rabi Prize, American Physical Society (APS), 2007

Carl Zeiss Research Award, Germany, 2007

William F. Meggers Award, Optical Society of America (OSA), 2006

Samuel Wesley Stratton Award, National Institute of Standards and Technology,


Friedrich Wilhem Bessel Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation,

Germany, 2006

Fellow, Optical Society of America, 2006

First Prize (Technology Innovations), Amazing Light: Vision for Discovery

(C. H. Townes), 2005

Fellow, American Physical Society, 2005


                              <<<<<<  Denna sida ändrades, den 13 juni 2024 kl.17:34:58    >>>>>>